Archive for the ‘ News ’ Category

President Bush Signs Landmark Energy Bill

Written by AIA Government Advocacy Team
Published in The Angle; Volume 5, Issue 27

AIA-backed provisions to improve building efficiency become law

President Bush signed into law historic energy legislation Wednesday that will shape U.S. energy policy for decades to come. The law seeks to dramatically reduce U.S. energy consumption over the next 25 years by applying the AIA’s 2030 carbon-reducing targets to federal buildings, increasing fuel efficiency standards for automobiles, and establishing new energy efficiency standards for appliances.

The new law includes numerous provisions advocated by the AIA to promote sustainable design in the built environment. Christine W. McEntee, the AIA’s executive vice president and chief executive officer, praised the efforts of policymakers as she attended today’s bill-signing ceremony at the Department of Energy’s Washington, D.C., headquarters.

“In crafting this law, Congress and the president have recognized what architects have long known: that improving the energy efficiency of our buildings will do more to promote energy independence and reduce our nation’s reliance on fossil fuels,” McEntee said.

Bill includes 2030 targets for federal buildings


 
2007 AIA President RK Stewart, FAIA, (second from left) testifies before a House Energy and Natural Resources subcommittee on energy-efficient building legislation.
 
Nearly two years after the AIA Board of Directors approved a policy position setting incremental energy reduction targets for all buildings, Congress included these goals for federal buildings in the bill the president signed today. Under the new law, all new and significantly renovated federal buildings are required to be carbon-neutral by 2030, dramatically reducing the amount of greenhouse gases emitted by the built environment.

“Applying the 2030 challenge to federal buildings was the AIA’s number one federal legislative priority in 2007, from the Grassroots conference in February through the summer and fall,” noted Paul Mendelsohn, vice president for Government and Community Relations. “The passage of the energy bill means that the year-long advocacy effort by AIA members, leadership, and staff reaped huge dividends for the profession, the environment, and our nation’s long-term energy future.”

AIA leaders testified on four separate occasions before congressional committees this year in support of provisions to improve building energy efficiency. In addition, the AIA led an effort by several organizations to support the 2030 targets for federal buildings. “This was truly a team effort,” said Mendelsohn.

Many other AIA-backed provisions
Aside from making major reductions in the amount of fossil fuel-generated energy that government-owned buildings consume, the energy law includes many other provisions the AIA championed throughout the year. The law:

Authorizes the Department of Energy to construct a photovoltaic wall, called the “Sun Wall,” on its Washington headquarters
Provides grants for schools to improve the environmental quality of their facilities
Creates new opportunities for small businesses seeking to pursue or expand sustainable design services.
For a complete description of the AIA’s provisions in the energy law, please see the fact sheet on AIA Priorities in the Energy Law.

AIA members champion sustainable design
Throughout the hard-fought negotiations on the bill, AIA members made a record number of contacts with their senators and representatives to guarantee that the legislation addressed the built environment. This month, AIA members sent nearly 9,000 emails and letters to their members of Congress asking them to support the energy bill and the provisions relating to the building sector.

As the Senate wrangled over the energy bill last week, members of the AIA Board of Directors and Executive Committee took Capitol Hill by storm, meeting with more than one third of the U.S. Senate to make the case for sustainable design. Last Thursday, as the Board met at AIA headquarters, Senate approved the energy bill by a vote of 86-8. Yesterday the House passed the Senate measure 314-100, setting up today’s historic bill-signing by the president.

Andrew Goldberg, Assoc. AIA, senior director for Federal Affairs, stressed that the implications of the energy law cannot be understated. “This energy law ensures that over the next 25 years, America’s architects will have a central role to play in designing a more sustainable built environment. AIA members spoke, and Congress and the president listened.”

The Angle is published by the AIA Government Advocacy Team, 1735 New York Ave., NW, Washington DC, 20006. To contact The Angle, send an email to angle@aia.org.

Registration now open for 2008 National Convention

AIA 2008 National Convention and Design Exposition.

Register today. Then join us in Boston, May 15-17, for an incredible convention.

See the new Boston, from the Big Dig and Fenway Park to the stunning Institute of Contemporary Art. Dine in the company of some of Boston’s most auspicious firms. Visit cutting-edge biotech and medical facilities, and tour diverse architecture across the city and beyond.

> See more from the Boston Society of Architects/AIA

Explore this year’s theme, We the People, and learn how architecture works on behalf of all people and society

Participate in a variety of education formats–workshops, seminars, tours, and expo education–and earn all the learning units you need over four days
> Search continuing education listings

Visit more than 800 exhibitors and discover new products and technologies you can use in future projects
> Preview exhibits

Download your copy of the complete convention guide now at www.aiaconvention.com/guide.

Remember, register by February 22 and take advantage of the Early Bird Discount.

REGISTER TODAY AT WWW.AIACONVENTION.COM

USGBC of Southern Arizona “Holiday Bash”

AIA Southern Arizona’s Affiliate Happy Hour location is being changed to USGBC’s Holiday Bash on Wednesday, December 19th, 2007 at 6:30PM.

Head over to Cantina at the Old Artisan Courtyard @ 201 North Court Avenue. It’s very informal. All you can eat for $4.00 per person. Please RSVP to Tracy Miller at tracy.miller@thomasrepro.com

Design Professional Survival Course

Owners have embraced the CM@Risk and Design/Build project delivery methods
in the belief they will improve results, reduce change orders, and eliminate disputes.
The rapid adoption of building information models also promise a fundamental
transformation to integrated design and construction teams. For better or
worse, these new technologies and business methods are a wave sweeping
through the design professions. Join our panel of legal and insurance experts to
catch the wave and ride it to better and more profitable projects.

If you interested in attending this event or you would like more information click here.

New Website

Our most recent news is this website. Make sure to explore it, click it, read it and let us know what you think. There is a place for questions and comments on the ‘Contact’ page.

Access Products

Nancy Hatley
3959 E. June Street
Mesa, AZ 85205
(480)433-4742
(480)584-5497 fax
nancyh@accessproducts.com

Ackermann Lighting Inc.

Paul Ackermann
4020 N. 24th St.
Phoenix, AZ 85016
Tel: 602-956-2000
Fax: 602-956-2266
webmaster@ackermannlighting.com

Acoustic Designs, Inc.

Chris Matthews
8595 E. Bell Road, Suite D-101
Scottsdale, AZ 85260
p: 888-296-0950
chris@acousticav.com

Adolphson & Peterson Construction

Rich Michal
5002 S. Ash Avenue
Tempe, AZ 85282
520-940-6708 Phone
480-345-8755 Fax
rmichal@a-p.com

Advance Terrazzo Co.

Bruce Thornham
1217 E. Gibson Ln
Phoenix, AZ 85034
Tel: 602-253-9400
Fax: 602-253-6915
bthornham@advanceterrazzo.com

Advantech Facility Design, Inc.

Paiman Owtad
3280 E. Hemisphere Loop
Suite 110
Tucson, AZ 85706
P: 520-806-0903
paiman.owtad@advantechae.com

AED Inc.

Chris Sosnowski
624 S. Perry Lane, Ste 101
Tempe, AZ 85281
Tel: 480-894-0399
Fax:
susan@aedstructural.com

Aerotek

Jim Kelley
Account Manager
4657 E. Cotton Gin Loop, Ste 200
Phoenix, AZ 85040
Tel: 602-567-1980
Fax: 602-567-1970
jkelley@aerotek.com

Additional Contacts:
Amy Rosenblum: arosenbl@aerotek.com
Dan Nedoba: dnedoba@aerotek.com
Hann-Ah Hong: hhong@aerotek.com
Chris Mcgrath: cmcgrath@aerotek.com

Air Fresh Technologies

Maggie Michel
PO Box 65564
Tucson, AZ 85728
Tel: 520-444-7643
Fax:
airfreshaz@aol.com

Alpha Geotechnical & Materials, Inc.

Jim Weaver
Alpha Geotechnical & Materials, Inc.
2504 West Southern Avenue
Tempe, Arizona 85282
480-329-4523
jweaver@alphageotech.com

Additional Contacts:
Alf Would awould@alphageotech.com
Armando Ortega aortega@alphageotech.com
Scott Joiner sjoiner@alphageotech.com
Shauna Stacy sstacy@alphageotech.com

Apache Stone

Brian Libbin
22040 N. 21st Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85027
623-776-6605
brian@apachestone.com

Additional Contacts:
Bill Davis – bill@apachestone.com
Wayne Evans – wayne@apachestone.com
Rich De Alba – richardd@apachestone.com

APS Solutions of Business

Jerry Ufnal
2001 N. 3rd Street, Ste 106
Phoenix, AZ 85004
480-201-1377
jerry@egreenideas.com

Arcadia Studio

Kimberly Arevaloro
3939 E. Campbell Avenue, Ste 130
Phoenix, AZ 85018
Tel: 602-955-0301
Fax: 602-840-5466
kim@arcadiastudio.com

Arcadia, Inc.

Ken Martinek
726 W. 13th St
Tempe, AZ 85281-6303
Tel: 602-437-2514
Fax:
arcadiaofaz@aol.com

Arizona Bronze Atelier Fine Art

Kim Nikolacv
227 S. Rockford Drive
Tempe, AZ 85281
602-214-7468
480-968-4021 Fax
kim@azbronze.com

Arizona Builders Alliance

Dan Cavanagh
1661 N. Swan, Ste 144
Tucson, AZ 85712
Tel: 520-881-7930
Fax: 520-327-1686
azbuildtuc@aol.com

Arizona Commercial Real Estate

Carol Shepard
3101 N. Central Avenue, Ste 1070
Phoenix, AZ 85012
Tel: 602-277-6045
Fax: 602-277-2064
carol@azbusinessmagazine.com

Arizona Masonry Guild

Lisa Prichard
99 E. Virginia Avenue, Ste 160
Phoenix, AZ 85004
Tel: 602-265-5999
Fax: 602-274-5121
lisa@masonryforlife.com

Arizona Tile

Dennis McDonald
8829 S. Priest Drive
Tempe, AZ 85284
Tel: 480-893-9393 x2910
Fax: 480-893-9390
dmcdonald@arizonatile.com

Tuscon Office:
Lorelei Hough
756 E. Ft. Lowell Rd
Tucson, AZ 85719.2108
Tel: 520-622-4671
Fax: 520-624-6679
lhough@arizonatile.com

Armstrong World Industries Inc.

Bob Trimble
PMB 422
2733 N. Power Road, Suite 102
Mesa, AZ 85215
P: 480-985-9087
F: 866-566-2593
email: rgtrimble@armstrong.com

Artisan Cinema & Sound LLC

Bill Aziz
9171 E. Bell Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85260
480-538-1071
480-538-1072 fax
baziz@artisanaz.com

Arun, Inc. Structural Consultants

Arpan B. Tailor, M.S., P.E
459 N Gilbert Rd, Suite A260
Gilbert, Arizona 85234
Phone: 480.560.7007
Fax: 480.248.2747
atailor@arunse.com

Ashmor Commercial Construction

Max Wunderlich
PO Box 2329
Arizona City, AZ 85223
Tel: 520-494-1277
Fax: 520-494-1278
maxw@ashmorhomes.com

ASL Home Entertaiment Group

Steve O’Hara
1530 E. Broadway Blvd
Tucson, AZ 85719
520-629-8880
steveo@avsystemstech.com

Automated Environments, Inc.

1853 S. Horne
Suite 3D
Mesa, AZ 85204
480-545-5050 Phone
480-545-5461 Fax

AVIAR Commercial Space Planning & Design

Linda Kay Mracek
180 E. Broadway Blvd.
Tucson, AZ 85701
Tel: 520-624-3342
Fax: 520-624-3047
aviardesign@aol.com

Barker Morrissey Contracting

Brian Barker
3619 E. Speedway, Ste 101
Tucson, AZ 85716 
brian@barkermorrissey.com

Additional Contacts:
Bob Malin bob@barkermorrissey.com
Doug Peery doug@barkermorrissey.com
Bill Hough bill@barkermorrissey.com
Kevin Morrissey kevin@barkermorrissey.com

Phoenix Location:
David  Haines
1539 W. Virginia Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85007
602-390-0672
davidhaines@cox.net

Barton Malow Company

Dean Piles
1620 W. Fountainhead Pkwy
Tempe, AZ 85282
480-422-7400
dean.piles@bartonmalow.com

B.H.I.D.P.

Bene Harrison
6997 W. Fall Garden Way
Tucson, AZ 85757
Tel: 520-624-0627
Fax: 520-884-4813
bene-id@msn.com

Big D Floor Covering

Keven Feld
2802 W. Virginia Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85009
Tel: 602-442-2200
Fax: 602-352-0747
kfeld@bigdfloorcovering.com

BizTucson Magazine

Steven Rosenberg
4279 E. Sunrise Drive
Suite 505
Tucson, AZ 85718
520-907-1012
520-299-1005 Fax
steve@biztucsonmag.com

Bonded Materials Company

Ed Taube
4330 N. 43rd Avenue, Ste B-4
Phoenix, AZ 85031
623-873-0001
etaube@bondedmaterials.com

Bonnett Fairbourn Friedman & Balint, P.C.

Andrew Everroad
2901 N. Central Ave., Ste 1000
Phoenix, AZ 85012
Tel: 602-274-1100
Fax: 602-274-1199
aeverroad@bffb.com

Borm Engineers

Tres Warner
19820 N. 7th Street, Ste 210
Phoenix, AZ 85024
Tel: 623-869-0607 x245
Fax: 623-321-6652

Brick Stone Colorado Inc.

Scott Shepherd
14420 W. 71st Avenue
Arvada, CO 80004
Tel: 303-736-2358
Fax: 303-736-2359
scott@brickstonecolorado.com