Design Awards

AIA AZ 2017 Design Awards Gala Logo


The AIA Arizona Design Awards program recognizes excellence in architectural projects and practices under five categories: Design, Leadership, Practice, Performance, and Education. Their intent is to honor exceptional work, both built and unbuilt, established practices of excellence, and nurture new values and activities that contribute to design and design appreciation.

Project submissions may be located or designed for any location in the world. Projects must be either designed by AIA Arizona architects in good standing, registered and licensed in the State of Arizona; or AIA members in good standing, residing outside the State, who are licensed in Arizona and submitting a project or practice located in Arizona.

The Project Jury may make Awards in three echelons of distinction (Honor, Merit, and Citation) and shall determine the number of each Award. Award certificates are presented and projects featured at the annual Design Awards Gala. The Gala for the 2017 Design Awards will be held on Friday, October 20, at Phoenix Art Museum.

2017 Category Details, Entry Forms, and Templates

AIA Arizona invites you to take a look at the new Call for Entry! We have combined all of our Awards into one Call for Entry–including AIA Southern Arizona and our Special Awards. The instructions have been streamlined this year; the instructions for each of the categories are available in one document.

We have also changed the APS Energy Award and the SRP Sustainable Award this year. There continues to be no entry fee if you are submitting your project in the Distinguished Building category and you no longer need to create a separate entry–just include the additional information. However, if you are submitting a project just in the energy and/or sustainable categories the entry fee of $150 applies to each entry.

Please note, if you choose to pay online, please be sure to complete the entry form and send it to Tina.

2017 Design Awards Deadlines and Registration

  • Entry Forms & Fees Due: 12pm MST–Friday, July 7th
  • Submittals Due: 12pm MST–Friday, August 4th
  • Late Submittals Due: 12pm MST–Friday, August 11th

Register Online:  AIA Arizona Design Awards Entry Fee Online Payments

Read a Recap of the 2016 Design Awards Gala here.

View past Arizona Architects Medal Recipients

Design Awards Categories

Design Category (see entry packet for details):

  • Urban and Regional Planning Award
  • 25 Year Award
  • Distinguished Architecture Award
  • Interior Architecture Award
  • Component Design award
  • Un-built Design Award
  • Theory + Design Award

Leadership Category (see entry packet for details):

  • Arizona Architects Medal
  • Award of Distinction
  • Allied Member Award
  • Associates Award
  • AIA10 Award
  • Client Award
  • Patron Award
  • Community Design Award

Practice Category (see entry packet for details):

  • Firm of the Year Award
  • Contractor Award
  • Consultant Award
  • Goodwin Collaboration Award

Performance Category (see entry packet for details):

  • APS Energy Award
  • SRP Sustainable Award
  • Research-Design Award

Education Category (see entry packet for details):

  • Educator of the Year Award
  • Design Pedagogy Award
  • Community Education Award


Tina Litteral, Hon. AIA, CAE
Executive Vice President,
AIA Arizona
602-252-4200 OR

Okland Construction Kovach Arcadia