AIA Arizona Legislative Alert

This is an URGENT plea for all of you to contact the legislators listed below.SB 1171 would eliminate the Board of Technical Registration and move all of its functions and registrants to the Registrar of Contractors. All matters would then be decided by the Registrar of Contractors and not a Board of your peers.Please copy me on all email messages you send to these legislators.
Tina Litteral, Hon AIA
AIA Arizona
 

 SB 1171 – Board of Technical Registration Repeal; ROC
This piece of legislation has been assigned to two Senate Committees. The Committee on Commerce and Economic Development and also Government. However, this bill has not been scheduled for a hearing yet.
BUT WE NEED YOU TO CONTACT THESE LEGISLATORS TODAY!

If this legislation passes – there will no longer be a Board that looks out for your best interest. The Registrar shall have all of the control that is currently held by the Board members.

The BTR fulfills a vitally important mission to assure that architects, engineers, land surveyors, and other related professions are properly qualified to provide their services. The BTR also protects the public by restricting or revoking registration privileges of any registered design professional who does not comply with the Board’s Rules.

The Registrar of Contractors has a different mission and it is entirely unprepared to assume responsibility for regulating design professionals. There are no similarities in the way in which the two agencies work and it is not in the best interest of the public to merge the two into the Registrar’s office.

Members of the BTR are all licensed design professionals who understand exactly what other members of their professions must do to demonstrate and maintain their competence. Design professionals are not like contractors and they shouldn’t be regulated by the agency that also regulates contractors.

The BTR is a 90/10 agency supported entirely by the fee income it collects and it does not draw money from the General Fund. Abolishing the BTR will not help Arizona solve its budget problems.

 Senate Commerce and Economic Development CommitteeChair Barbara Leff  bleff@azleg.govVice Chair Robert Blendu   rblendu@azleg.gov

Senator Carolyn Allen    callen@azleg.gov

Senator Meg Burton Cahill   mburtoncahill@azleg.gov

Senator Ken Cheuvront  kcheuvront@azleg.gov

Senator Pamela Gorman  pgorman@azleg.gov

Senator Richard Miranda  rmiranda@azleg.gov

Senator Jay Tibshraeny  jtibshraeny@azleg.gov

Senate Government Committee

Chair Jack Harper  jharper@azleg.gov

Vice Chair Robert Blendu  rblendu@azleg.gov

Senator Meg Burton Cahill  mburtoncahill@azleg.gov

Senator Jake Flake  jflake@azleg.gov

Senator Jorge Luis Garcia  jgarcia@azleg.gov

Senator Linda Gray  lgray@azleg.gov

Charlene Pesquiera  cpesquiera@azleg.gov

PLEASE LET THESE SENATORS KNOW THAT THEY SHOULD VOTE NO ON SB1171. 
Comment are closed.